Lilacs = Spring

It just wouldn’t be spring without the smell of lilacs in bloom. I grew up in western New York and lilacs were everywhere. They were so much a part of this area of the country that Rochester hosted (and still does) a lilac festival each year. Western NY lilacs were large bushed filled with blooms. While I have lilacs growing here in Pennsylvania, the number of blooms just doesn’t compare to the New York plants.

I think part of the issue is the coldness of the winters. Lilacs need a period of cold call vernalization in order to blossom. I planted one lilac on the south side of the house and it never blossomed – the location was too protected and warm. The other lilacs I planted are more exposed and blossom to varying degrees each year.

I don’t know all of the ins and outs of getting a lilac to bloom profusely. Maybe there are some tricks I have yet to learn. But even a few blooms makes them worth growing. Below are some pictures of this year’s lilacs. I especially like the last one of the group. While I usually prefer crisp and clear pictures, softening the focus on a white lilac in dappled sunlight makes it look almost ethereal.

Whether the bush is full of blooms or only has a few scattered flowers, I couldn’t imagine spring without lilacs!

lilac 1

lilac5

lilac3

lilac4

lilac2

2 responses to “Lilacs = Spring

  1. Hmmm… I can’t see my comment. Well, I hope I’m not double-posting but I wanted to let you know that I loved this post! Lilacs are my favorite flower and always bloom in time for my birthday at the beginning of May. As an apartment dweller, I have never had the pleasure of growing them so I really appreciated your post.
    By the way, you’re right- the white lilac is positively heavenly!

    • Thanks so much! You’re first comment didn’t post because I had to approve it before it’ll show. I approved this one and appreciate your comments – glad I could bring a few lilacs into your apartment!

Leave a Reply

