Photo Odds and Ends

I spent a little time yesterday taking a few pictures. Here are the stories behind them.

Achimene

Achimene

I’ve written a number of posts about achimenes. This year I had so many rhizomes that I tried planting some of them outside in a shady area. I have to say that I’m shocked at how healthy the plants look. They aren’t blooming yet but they’re the fullest, greenest and best-looking achimenes I’ve ever grown!

Outdoor Achimene

Outdoor Achimene

This year I had to cut down one of the asian pears because the rabbits had girdled it a few years ago and the tree finally died. I didn’t expect the other tree to have any fruit since asian pears aren’t supposed to be self-pollinating. Well, this picture shows that something pollinated it!IMG_9591

I’ve never had much of a problem with potato beetles. I know some gardens are decimated by them, but I had to hunt to find one to photograph. They’re kind of cool looking beetles. (Obviously my opinion will change if I get an infestation!)

Potato Beetle

Potato Beetle

Potato Beetle

Potato Beetle

The final pictures show some of the flowers in the garden.

Zinnia

Zinnia

Zinnia

Zinnia

Hibiscus

Hibiscus

Hibiscus Close Up

Hibiscus Close Up

2 responses to “Photo Odds and Ends

  1. Nice pictures.

Leave a Reply

